Skip to main content
schilderij Van Bree © Bart Huysmans & Michel Wuyts

Painting by Van Bree on the list of Top Pieces

On 15 June 2020, the Flemish Government added the painting 'Entry of Bonaparte, as First Consul, into Antwerp on 18th July 1803' by Mathieu Ignatius Van Bree to the list of Top Pieces. The painting gives an equally spectacular and detailed impression of the entry of the French sovereign into Antwerp in 1803. It marks a momentous occasion in the history of Antwerp and Flanders. That is why it has special value.

From a documentary piece to masterpiece

The French emperor's visit to Antwerp was an important moment for both the city on the Scheldt and Bonaparte himself. Napoleon had great plans for Antwerp. He wanted to build a modern port that would serve a leading role within the French empire, both in terms of merchant shipping and for a formidable naval force.

For this festive event, the Antwerp painter Mattheus Ignatius van Bree (1773-1839) was commissioned by the city council to design several floats, in addition to statues and triumphal arches that decorated the Town Hall. In 1801, Van Bree had already painted two allegories glorifying Bonaparte.

During this visit, Bonaparte's wife Joséphine de Beauharnais was so charmed by Van Bree's works and verbally ordered a painting to immortalise this event. The official order was only placed in 1807 by Dominique Vivant Denon, the then director of the Musée Napoléon. Van Bree received 9,000 francs for this commission.

Mattheus Ignatius van Bree was extremely meticulous in the preparation of the canvas: he first created portraits of more than a hundred people he wished to depict in the painting, including the regional administrators of the department, the Antwerp city council and a number of high-ranking French officers. He also drew the likenesses of commercially successful individuals in Antwerp, such as the German merchant Georg Kreglinger. All these drawings are now kept in the Cabinet des Desseins of the Louvre Museum.

Van Bree then painted two identical works, but each in a different format. The small format (77 x 126 cm) belongs to the MAS collection (inventory number AS.1959.097). The large oil painting hangs in the Palace of Versailles.

schilderij

Bree, Mattheus Ignatius van (painter), Study for the painting 'Entry of Bonaparte, as First Consul, into Antwerp on 18th July 1803', AS.1959.097, Collection City of Antwerp, MAS, photo: Bart Huysmans & Michel Wuyts

Subscribe to our newsletter

Aller au contenu principal
schilderij Van Bree

Un tableau de Van Bree sur la liste des chefs-d'œuvre

Le 15 juin 2020, le Gouvernement flamand a ajouté le tableau « Entrée de Bonaparte Premier consul à Anvers, 18 juillet 1803 » de Mathieu-Ignace Van Bree à la liste des chefs-d'œuvre. La peinture illustre d'une manière aussi spectaculaire que détaillée l'entrée du souverain français à Anvers en 1803. Elle marque un moment clé dans l'histoire d'Anvers et de la Flandre ; sa valeur est donc très singulière.

Du reportage au chef-d'œuvre

La visite du chef d'État français à Anvers fut un événement important, autant pour la ville du Diamant que pour Bonaparte. Napoléon avait de grands projets pour Anvers. Il voulait en faire un port moderne qui jouerait un rôle commercial et militaire de premier plan au sein de l'Empire français.

Dans le cadre de ces festivités, la ville chargea le peintre anversois Mathieu-Ignace Van Bree (1773-1839) d'esquisser quelques chars aux côtés des statues et des arcs de triomphe qui ornaient l'hôtel de ville. Van Bree avait déjà peint deux allégories, en 1801, qui représentaient un Bonaparte glorifié.

Au cours de cette visite, les œuvres conquirent Joséphine de Beauharnais, l'épouse de Bonaparte, qui exprima son désir qu'un tableau vînt immortaliser l'événement. La commande officielle ne fut placée qu'en 1807 par Dominique Vivant Denon, alors directeur du musée Napoléon, et Van Bree toucha 9 000 francs pour sa réalisation.

Mathieu-Ignace Van Bree prépara la toile avec une grande minutie : il peignit d'abord plus d'une centaine de personnes, parmi lesquelles des dirigeants régionaux du département, l'administration communale d'Anvers et quelques Officiers français hautement gradés. Il esquissa également des personnalités anversoises importantes sur le plan économique et financier, comme l'entrepreneur allemand Georg Kreglinger. Tous ces dessins sont aujourd'hui conservés au Cabinet des Desseins du musée du Louvre.

Ensuite, Van Bree produisit deux œuvres identiques, mais de formats différents. Le petit format (77 x 126 cm) appartient à la collection du MAS (numéro d'inventaire AS.1959.097). Le grand format, une peinture à l'huile, est exposée au château de Versailles.

schilderij

Bree, Mathieu-Ignace Van (peintre), Étude pour le tableau « Entrée de Bonaparte premier consul à Anvers, 18 juillet 1803 », AS.1959.097, Collection Ville d'Anvers, MAS, photo : Bart Huysmans & Michel Wuyts

Inscrivez-vous à la newsletter