Skip to main content
t

100 x Congo

A century of Congolese art in Antwerp

Exactly one hundred years ago the Congolese collection of the city of Antwerp came into being, in all-out colonial times. 100 X Congo features one hundred highlights. What stories are hidden behind the objects? How did they end up here? What did they mean to Congolese peoples? And where lies the future of the collection?

Here you will find how early contacts between Europe and Africa went. How Antwerp masters depicted Africans. Why Congolese men and women were staged at the world fairs. During colonization the missionary work had its impact on Congolese culture. And how did Congolese people perceive the white man (mundele)?

For this exhibition the museum collaborates with Belgian and Congolese researchers, filmmakers and artists. We engage in dialogue with Antwerp residents of Belgian and Congolese descent. The MAS invites you: think along with us about the imaging of Africans and about the past, the present and the future of  the Congolese collection.

With the exhibition also comes a publication. This is for sale in the MAS shop or online. Please contact info@masshop.be.

Practical information

100 x Congo. A century of Congolese art in Antwerp

3/10/2020 - 12/09/2021

Book tickets

A powerful image of a standing female figure
whose head averts the viewer's direct gaze,
AE.0609, Collection City of Antwerp, MAS,
photo: Michel Wuyts

The MAS would like to thank the Royal Museum for Central Africa (Koninklijk Museum voor Midden-Afrika) in Tervuren for its collaboration by arranging for exceptional loans from the permanent collection to come to Antwerp, and for co-financing the French-language publication. Both museums pursue a common goal in research and transfer of knowledge about heritage.

Correction

The exhibition '100 x Congo. A century of Congolese art in Antwerp' focuses, among other things, on the Antwerp World Fair of 1894. At the time, 144 Congolese were shipped to Antwerp as an attraction for the European public. Based on never-before-published sources from the Antwerp Felix city archives, the MAS shows that a number of them became seriously ill and died here at the time.

However, recent further research has revealed that it was 7 Congolese and not 8, as stated in the expo. Manguesse and Monguene appear to be the same person with different spellings. We misinterpreted that. Sabo, Bitio, Isokoyé, Manguesse, Binda, Mangwanda and Pezo did not make the return trip home and are buried in the Schoonselhof. They were all between the ages of 17 and 31. The MAS apologizes for this misinformation in the expo.

About the exhibition

Afrikaans beeld van een vrouw

Visitor guide 100 x Congo

A century of Congolese art in Antwerp

100 x Congo is an exhibition with two itineraries. The digital visitor guide gives you all the context you need.

Collaboration

An exhibition with multiple voices

For the exhibition, the MAS collaborates with Belgian and Congolese artists, filmmakers and researchers. An overview.

In many hands

A multimedia project by Faire-Part

In the multimedia project 'In many hands' twenty-five people shine their light on the Congolese collection of the city of Antwerp. They speak about an object of choice from the one hundred highlights in the exhibition.

Also worth visiting

Congoville is a temporary exhibition about the traces of the (post)colonial history on the Middelheim site. Several artists of African origin take the visitor in tow.

Activities

A guided visit to 100 x Congo

A century of Congolese art in Antwerp

100 unique Congolese objects from the MAS collection are the eye-catchers of this exhibition. '100x Congo' reflects on the acquisition history of these objects and the image of Africans then and now.

See also

In memoriam

Jacob Sabakinu Kivilu 10/10/1945 - 08/01/2021

It is with fond memories and the utmost respect that the MAS says goodbye to Jacob Sabakinu Kivilu, an esteemed bridge-builder between Congolese and Belgian universities and museums.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Aller au contenu principal
t

100 x Congo

Un siècle d'art congolais à Anvers

Il y a exactement cent ans, en pleine période coloniale, la ville d'Anvers est entrée en possession d'une collection congolaise. 100 X Congo met à l'honneur cent pièces phares. Quelles histoires s'y cachent ? Comment sont-elles arrivées ici ? Quelle était leur signification pour les peuples congolais ? Et où se trouve l'avenir de la collection ?

Vous y découvrez aussi comment se sont déroulés les premiers contacts entre l'Europe et l'Afrique. Comment les maîtres anversois ont représenté les Africains. Pourquoi les Congolais ont été exhibés lors des expositions universelles. Il y a également l’impact des missions sur la culture congolaise lors de la colonisation. Et comment les Congolais voyaient-ils le blanc (mundele) ?

Le musée collabore avec des artistes, des cinéastes et des chercheurs belges et congolais. Nous entrons en dialogue avec des résidents anversois d'origine belge et africaine. Le MAS vous invite à vous joindre à nous pour mener une réflexion sur l'image des Africains et sur le passé, le présent et l'avenir de la collection congolaise.

Statue de pouvoir d’une femme debout avec la tête détournée
AE.0609, Collection Ville d’Anvers, MAS
photo © Michel Wuyts

Une publication fait partie de l'expo. Ceci est en vente dans la boutique MAS ou en ligne. Contactez info@masshop.be;

Côté pratique

100 x Congo. Un siècle d'art congolais à Anvers

3/10/2020 - 12/09/2021

Réservez tickets

Le MAS tient à remercier le Musée royal de l'Afrique centrale (Koninklijk Museum voor Midden-Afrika ) à Tervuren pour sa collaboration en organisant des prêts exceptionnels de la collection permanente pour venir à Anvers, et pour le cofinancement de la publication francophone. Les deux musées poursuivent un objectif commun de recherche et de transfert de connaissances sur le patrimoine.

Rectification

L'exposition « 100 x Congo. Un siècle d'art congolais à Anvers » s'intéresse, entre autres, à l'exposition universelle d'Anvers de 1894. A cette occasion, 144 Congolais sont expédiés à Anvers pour servir comme une attraction au public européen. Sur la base de sources inédites provenant des archives municipales d'Anvers Felix, le MAS montre qu'un certain nombre d'entre eux sont tombés gravement malades et sont décédés.

Des recherches complémentaires récentes ont toutefois montré qu'il s'agit de 7 Congolais et non de 8, comme indiqué dans l'exposition. Manguesse et Monguene semblent être la même personnemais écrit différemment. Sabo, Bitio, Isokoyé, Manguesse, Binda, Mangwanda et Pezo n'ont pas fait le voyage de retour et sont enterrés au Schoonselhof. Ils avaient tous entre 17 et 31 ans. Le MAS s'excuse pour cette information incorrecte dans l'expo.

Sur l'expo

Afrikaans beeld van een vrouw

Guide du visiteur 100 x Congo

Un siècle d'art congolais à Anvers

Une exposition en deux volets. Le guide du visiteur numérique vous donne tout le contexte dont vous avez besoin.

Printscreen of virtuele tour met zicht op schilderij en video met Baudouin

Un regard sur 100 x Congo

Vous n'avez pas (encore) réussi à venir voir " 100 x Congo " au MAS ? Ou bien souhaitez-vous jeter un autre coup d'œil à l'exposition après votre visite ? Notre guide Baudouin Mena vous fera découvrir les salles de notre exposition virtuellement et vous donnera quelques informations supplémentaires.

Collaboration

Une exposition, plusieurs voix

Pour l'exposition, le MAS collabore avec des artistes, cinéastes et chercheurs belges et congolais. Un aperçu.

Dans de nombreuses mains

Un projet multimedia du collectif Faire-Part

Dans le projet multimédia 'Dans de nombreuses mains', vingt-cinq personnes jettent un coup d'œil à la collection congolaise dans la ville d'Anvers. Ils s'expriment sur une des pièces qu'ils ont sélectionnées parmi les cent objets d'art et utilitaires de l'exposition.

A visiter également

Congoville est une exposition temporaire sur les traces de l'histoire (post)coloniale sur le site de Middelheim. Divers artistes d'origine africaine prennent le visiteur en remorque.

Activités

Visite guidée en ligne 100 x Congo

Réservez une visite guidée en ligne basée sur les images de l'expo.

Visite guidée 100 x Congo

Un siècle d'art congolais à Anvers

100 objets congolais uniques de la collection MAS sont les accroches de cette exposition. «100x Congo» revient sur l'histoire de l'acquisition de ces objets et sur l'image des Africains d'hier et d'aujourd'hui

Chasse au trésor dans l'expo 100 x Congo

Pour familles aves des enfants entre 8 et 12 ans

Les enfants apprennent plus sur le Congo et son passé colonial par réfléchir, regarder en accomplir des petites tâches.

Voir aussi

In memoriam

Jacob Sabakinu Kivilu 10/10/1945 - 08/01/2021

C’est avec un profond respect et des souvenirs chaleureux que le MAS dit adieu à Jacob Sabakinu, un grand intermédiaire entre les universités et les musées congolais et belges.

Allez à

Inscrivez-vous à la newsletter