Skip to main content

More indians, less cowboys

A journey into life below the waterline

The port of Antwerp connects the city with the rest of the world. The exhibition 'World Port. On trade and shipping' tells this story on the sixth floor. However, it's not only freight and commercial goods that pass through the port.

Amongst the plastic soup on the banks of the river Scheldt, strange and battered figures are regularly washed up by the many oceans they have swum, sometimes for many years. These are brought back to life by the never-ending impulse of the tides and breaking waves.

The figures have come together in a rebellion. They never wish to become rubbish again, instead they dream of a second chance in their own world. That's why, together with the architecture firm Rose & co, they are building a Travelling Reserve for Scheldt jetsam.

Travel through the reserve thanks to the miniature engine with camera chugging through the enchanting landscape. Saar Van de Leest composes new music especially for these film images. The result resembles a real road movie.

The Reserve will remain here until 22 August.  This marks the end of the 'World Port' exhibition. The MAS will then look forward to the new exhibition 'Freight'. This opens on 11 December.

Practical information

  • From 3/05 until 22/08/2021 on the boulevard on the 8th floor.

See also

World Port

Trade and shipping

Once the largest port in the world, today the Port of Antwerp is characterised by colourful containers. It connects the city with the rest of the world. Dive into the history of our port.

Freight

World Trade in Antwerp

In the new permanent exhibition 'Freight. World Trade in Antwerp' you stop at various 'docks', each of which reveals a different part of the city's connection with world trade. A journey through the history of the port city. On view from December 2021.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Skip to main content

More indians, less cowboys

Un voyage sous la surface de l'eau

Le port d'Anvers relie la ville au reste du monde. C'est l'histoire que raconte l'exposition permanente : « Port mondial. Du commerce et de la navigation » au sixième étage du MAS. Mais le port n'accueille pas seulement des marchandises et des cargaisons.

Parmi la « soupe de plastique » échouée au bord de l'Escaut, nous retrouvons régulièrement de petites figurines uniques, rodées par les eaux que certaines parcourent depuis des années. Grâce au mouvement permanent des vagues et des marées, elles sont réanimées et reviennent à la vie.

Ces figurines se sont réunies et ont décidé de se révolter. Elles ne veulent en aucun cas retourner vivre avec les déchets, et rêvent d'une seconde vie dans leur monde à elles. Avec le bureau d'architectes Rose en co, elles ont donc construit une réserve itinérante pour les rescapés de l'Escaut : la Réserve des Rescapés recueillis de l'Escaut.

Une locomotive miniature roule à travers ce paysage fantaisiste de taille réduite avec une caméra, pour vous permettre d'admirer la réserve. Dignes d'un véritable road movie, les images sont accompagnées de musique live composée pour l'occasion, sous la direction de Saar van de Leest.

Voyagez dans la réserve grâce à une locomotive miniature dotée d'une caméra, qui roule à travers ce paysage fantaisiste. Sarah van de Leest compose la musique qui rythme les images. Le résultat semble tout droit sorti d'un véritable road movie.

La Réserve restera ici jusqu'au 22 août inclus. Ce sera alors la fin de l'exposition « Port mondial ». Le MAS se réjouit déjà d'accueillir sa nouvelle exposition « Fret », qui ouvrira le 11 décembre.

Côté pratique

  • À partir du 3/05 jusqu'au 22/08/2021 à voir dans le boulevard au 8e étage.

Voir aussi

Port mondial

Du commerce et de la navigation

Autrefois le plus grand port mondial, aujourd’hui, un grand port à conteneurs. Le port d’Anvers relie la ville avec le reste du monde. Plongez dans l’histoire de la navigation maritime.

Fret

Le commerce mondial à Anvers

Dans la nouvelle exposition permanente vous vous arrêtez à différents "docks", qui révèlent chacun une partie différente des liens de la ville avec le commerce mondial. Un voyage à travers l'histoire de la ville portuaire. À voir à partir du décembre 2021

Inscrivez-vous à la newsletter